Readers: 30 | Updated: 05-06

What Every SEO Needs to Know About Branded Search ROI [Brandcurve - branding and marketing]

Translate Into:

The following is a guest post from Gab Goldenberg of SEO ROI.  Gab is my go-to-guy for all things SEO.  You can learn more about Gab at the end of this post. 

What is the true cost of conversions gained through branded search? What is the true ROI?

It’s been repeated often enough that branded search terms convert exceptionally well. Eric Peterson is one proponent, and Avinash Kaushikis another. (Avinash works as a consultant to Google, which tells you something about his skill and the richness of the data he gets to play with!)

But most search marketing experts only look at the click costs of conversions from brand searches. Cross channel tracking needs to be used to measure the real total cost to a business of getting a conversion from a brand-name search. Cross channel tracking, for those who might not know, refers to tracking conversions across various marketing mediums, such as search, email, print ads, radio etc. Here’s how it can be used to measure the real cost of conversions from branded search.

The standard formula for cost-per-action (CPA) used in search marketing is simply augmented to include branding initiatives. CPA = (Total pay-per-click spend + Total cost of branding initiatives like TV, radio, print ads, publicity stunts, event sponsorships etc.) / number of conversions from branded search.

For example, let’s take IBM’s spending on its IntelliStation Power servers (the website, while being sleek, professional and well-branded, could be better optimized, guys). Here’s what the calculation for that might look like:

CPA = ($5,000,000 + 25,000,000) / 3,000 servers sold = $10,000 cost per server sold. At $6,000 - $9,000 a pop, the campaign would be at a loss, just based on advertising costs (let alone shipping, taxes etc.). Obviously the numbers matter, so by just guessing that IBM sold 4,000 servers, we find that the campaign would be seeing a CPA of $7,500 and at 5,000 units sold, we reach $6000 CPA and breakeven (ignoring taxes etc.).

What does this show? Besides my obvious prowess at elementary arithmetic, it highlights two main things:

  • Branded search conversions are much more expensive in practice than most analytics account for, because most analytics are solely looking at the cost of PPC (and maybe factoring in agency costs).
  • Web analytics brings branding into the world of direct marketing in that branding can be measured more accurately. The old “I know that half my advertising budget is wasted, but I don’t know what half” saying is no longer an excuse (as it might have been when PC ads first came out (bookmark that for your swipe files).

That said, let me take the opportunity to share some simple cross-channel tracking methods, partly gleaned from my own knowledge and partly from Avinash Kaushik’s Web Analytics an Hour a Day and Andrew Goodman’s Winning Results With Google AdWords. These address cross-channel tracking beyond search.

1) Feature Vanity domains or redirect URLs and vanity phone numbers in your offline branding ads. And domain registrar can get you a domain, your IT team can set up a redirect without too much trouble, while people like Mongoose Metrics can get you tracking phone numbers.

The way these work with your analytics is that each of them pings a particular page. Your analytics tracks that there was a visit to that page so that you know the source of the visitor.

IBM has been buying ads telling people how it increased conversions for Staples by 60%. The actual URL people end up at is: http://www-01.ibm.com/software/success/cssdb.nsf/CS/JSTS-765Q96?OpenDocument&Site=gicss67retl&cty=en_us

As you can imagine, that’s not what they showed on the ad. The ad actually had a shorter redirect URL like ibm.com/go/staples. Unfortunately, some of the branding ads still don’t have URLs on them.

2) Focus on memorable slogans that will result in searches, and be sure to integrate the slogans into your site so that you show up in the search results. For instance, Nike’s “Just Do It” attracts hundreds and possibly even thousands of daily searches. (Those numbers are for clicks on top-positioned ads; see my formula for translating that into daily search volume.) Jane Copland is living proof that people look these up.

3) If you offer phone support or phone purchasing, using separate trackable numbers for each keyword might be an option, but it likely won’t scale easily. An easier option shared in Andrew Goodman’s book is to have dynamic codes towards the bottom of the page. The codes change depending on the keyword referrer. When someone calls, the call centre staff ask for the code and feed that back into your analytics package.

Thus, using these ideas in concert, you can track the real costs and ROI of branded conversions.

Liked this? Subscribe to Gab’s RSS feed.  Gab Goldenberg writes the SEO ROI blog and sells search marketing consulting to leaders who appreciate the importance of search. His sites, domains and clients include Leather Watch .ca and The Business Card Creator.

Image source: SEO ROI

Tags: , , , , , ,



From The Blogs

Bootstrapper

07-15
Calculate This! 100 Financial Calculators Every Entrepreneur Needs
Many entrepreneurs don’t have the luxury of having a separate accounting department, instead doing their own number crunching. It’s not always easy, but you can make it less difficult by making use of... 查看全文

Life, Health, Furnishings

06-25
Rachel Ray 女士营养周的处方:芦笋,对抗疾病的超级植物[轻松女人]
这周是女士营养周,"每天和Rachel Ray在一起" 整理出四道以芦笋为主的美味菜肴,芦笋是“女性需要吃的绿色食物”中我喜欢的蔬菜之一。编者按:      芦笋是帮助女性对抗疾病的最好的食物之一,它... 查看全文

The Frugal Law Student

02-18
Save Time and Money by Working Out Every Other Day
Did you make a New Years Resolution to be fitter in 2008? Are you currently working out 5-6 times a week? Do you want to simplify your workout and save money at the same time?Working out will keep you... 查看全文

iVillage - Michele Borba Parenting Secrets

02-27
What Every Parent Needs to Know About Online Predators
Just mention two words: “Online Predator” to a parent and be prepared for a full-blown panic attack. Few things are more terrifying than envisioning our kids being recruited for sexual relationships -... 查看全文

The Frugal Law Student

03-09
Why Every Law Student Should Blog
I started blogging at the Frugal Law Student during my first year of law school. When I started it, I just thought it would be a fun way to share with my friends and family the ways Im saving money in... 查看全文

LifeDev

06-02
Train Yourself to Correctly Guess the Time, Every Time
photo credit: monkeyc.net Editors Note: This is a guest post by Rico of My Dear Friends. Do you constantly check your watch or your cellphone to see what time it is? Do you feel like you always have t... 查看全文

Get Rich Slowly

04-10
Negotiate Once, Save Thousands Every Year
This is a guest post from Jason, who is the author of World Fitness Network, a blog that will teach you how to lift weights, live strong, and change the way you look and feel. Sometimes a few simple a... 查看全文

FanHouse

09-11
Every Play Counts: Ravens' Ray Lewis Looks Rejuvenated Against the Bengals
Filed under: Ravens, NFL FansEvery Play Counts is Michael David Smith's weekly look at one specific player or one aspect of a team on every single play of the previous game.Ray Lewis is 33 years old a... 查看全文

FanHouse

09-18
Every Play Counts: Darren McFadden Is a Great Runner, Not Yet a Great Football Player
by Michael David SmithFiled under: RaidersEvery Play Counts is Michael David Smith's weekly look at one specific player or one aspect of a team on every single play of the previous game.Raiders runnin... 查看全文

Film School Rejects

09-18
IMDb Wants to Make Every Movie and TV Show Free [Interaction]
IMDb.coms site founder Col Needham said Monday, Our goal is to show our users every movie and TV show on the Internet for free on IMDb.com. Needless to say, I can see many of the wandering movie-lover... 查看全文
More Articles